Record number of Green Party Councillors Elected Across London


Record number of Green Party Councillors Elected Across London

London Green Party is celebrating after seeing 18 councillors elected to 8 councils across the capital, including breaking on to Croydon, Newham and Tower Hamlets councils, and returning to Hackney council.

Colin Boyle, Regional Coordinator, said it means Greens will now be able to make even more of a difference to communities across the capital.

“The Greens have been making gains across the country and we are delighted that residents in Richmond, Newham and Islington have trusted us to hold the administrations to account.

“People are turning to the Greens because they know that we work for their community and not take their support for granted.

“For too long residents across London have felt let down and ignored by the main two parties but now, as people feel the full force of the cost-of-living crisis and with the climate crisis on our doorstep, they can see that a better future is possible.

“I know that our new councillors will do everything within their power to be a force for good, and will work hard to make life better for communities in their wards.”

Results in full

  • Camden: Highgate – Siân Berry (re-elected)
  • Croydon: Fairfield
    • Ria Patel (Green WIN)
    • Esther Sutton (Green WIN)
  • Hackney
    • Dalston – Zoë Garbett (Green WIN)
    • Hackney Downs – Alastair Binnie-Lubbock (Green WIN)
  • Islington: Highbury
    • Benali Hamdache (Green WIN)
    • Ernestas Jegorovas-Armstrong (Green WIN) &
    • Caroline Russell (re-elected)
  • Lambeth: Streatham St. Leonard’s
    • Scott Ainslie (re-elected)
    • Nicole Griffiths (re-elected)
  • Newham: Stratford Olympic Park
    • Danny Keeling (Green WIN)
    • Nate Higgins (Green WIN)
  • Richmond
    • Fulwell and Hampton Hill – Caroline Wren (Green HOLD)
    • Ham, Petersham and Richmond Riverside – Andree Frieze (re-elected)
    • Mortlake and Barnes Common – Niki Crookdake (Green WIN)
    • South Richmond – Chas Warlow (Green WIN)
    • South Twickenham – Richard Bennett (re-elected)
  • Tower Hamlets: Bow West – Nathalie Bienfait (Green WIN)


To top